mochi

March 1, 2009 at 8:25 am | Posted in Dessert | 14 Comments
Tags: , , ,

In my family, mochi was a very special treat that was always purchased from an asian market or fair.  But last year a girlfriend introduced me to this homemade version.  Still sweet, sticky and chewy bites of golden dough-like cake…without the trip to Japan-town.  These can be made with ingredients easily found at any supermarket and are every bit as wonderful as I remember from my childhood.

mochi-1

Coconut Custard Mochi (Thanks Jenni)

  • 16 oz Mochiko (Sweet Rice Flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup butter, room temperature
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla

In a bowl sift together sweet rice flour and baking powder.  Set aside.

In a large bowl fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugar.  Add the eggs and beat well.

Pour coconut milk in a 2 cup measuring cup and add enough water to equal 2 cups.  Pour the coconut milk, evaporated milk, vanilla and dry ingredients into the bowl.  Mix well.

Pour batter into greased and floured 9×13 inch pan.  Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.  Cool completely on wire rack.

mochi-three

Dedicated to my grandmother.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. this sounds delish! it sounds super close to bibingka, which is a filipino mochi-cake. http://muffintop.wordpress.com/2006/07/07/bibingka-bibingka-bibingka/

  2. So I have never had this and it sounds rather good. Never even remember you talking about it either. I love that you are posting, since I love seeing your creations. Most of all, I think it is special that you posted something to honor your grandmother. Hope to catch up soon…

  3. They look like little decadent custardy bites! Yum!

  4. my parents lived in japan for years, so i grew up eating mochi! I ADORE IT. yours looks beautiful!

  5. I never heard of Mochi but you had me with the coconut and custard. I’ve missed you!

  6. Hey Karen! This looks really yummy! Was the memorial today? I hope it went well! Love ya!

  7. I’ve never had this, but it looks great!

  8. Yum!! They look so moist and delicious!

  9. A sweet post to dedicate to your Grandma. Love the photos too!

  10. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Powerhouse Strategies And Tips To Increase Your Odds Of Getting Pregnant

  11. Wow! looks totally delicious!

  12. I have never tried this but I am almost drooling here. This looks excellent!

  13. Those look sooo good! And the vanilla must add to the great flavour!

  14. When I made my Mochi cake I added fresh coconut before pouring it into the pan and it was out of this world delish!
    I can’t stop eating this Mochi,somebody please help me!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

