Ebelskivers

November 1, 2009 at 11:00 am | Posted in breakfast | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

ebelskivers 2

These Ebelskivers are a chore to make…three mixing bowls, a whip, beater, measuring tools, brush, pan, individual servings…but totally worth it!

The pan is from Williams-Sonoma Cookware.  Don’t bother with their packaged mix, not worth it.  But the recipe included on the pan is fool-proof.  I’ve made these so many different times this past year, each time with perfect results.

ebelskivers

My favorite filling/topping combo has got to be fresh banana with cinnamon-sugar.  A close second is boysenberry preserves with powdered sugar.

Ebelskivers from Williams-Sonoma Cookware

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 2 cups non-fat milk
  • 4 Tbsp unsalted butter plus 1/2 cup for cooking
  • Fillings (fresh banana, boysenberry preserves, chocolate chips)
  • Toppings (whipped cream, maple syrup, powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar)

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar.  In a  small bowl, lightly whisk the egg yolks, then whisk in the milk and the 4 Tbsp melted butter.  Whisk the yolk mixture into the flour mixture until well combined, the batter will be lumpy.

In another bowl, using an electric mixer fitter with the whisk attachment, beat the egg whites on high speed until stiff, about 2-3 minutes.  Gently fold the whites into the batter in two additions.

Melt the remaining butter and have it ready with a pastry brush.  Put 1/4 tsp butter in each well of the Ebelskiver pan.  Set over medium heat than heat until the butter begins to bubble.  Pour 1 Tbsp (I use a cookie scoop) of the batter into each well.  Put 1 tsp of filling of your choice in the center of each pancake and top with 1 Tbsp batter (not necessary if using a cookie scoop size to start).  Cook until the bottoms are golden brown and crispy, 3-5 minutes.  Using 2 wooden skewers, flip the pancakes over and cook until golden brown and crispy, about 3 minutes more.  Transfer to a plate.  Sprinkle with topping of your choice and serve immediately.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. One of my old roommates had one of these pans, and I loved it when she would make these! Now I want some…

  2. What fun! Next time I will come for a sleepover and you can make these for me.🙂

  3. G- absolutely!

  4. I have one of these pans but I’ve only used it once. Think I’ll break it out for the season. Thanks for the reminder!!!

  5. Did you mean to say top the filling with 1 T of butter or did you mean batter?

    I’m thinking it’s the latter because a tablespoon of butter would be pretty messy.

    I hope to make this recipe this weekend because you made is sound irresistible and I just received a pan I ordered from a cable shopping channel at much less than the going retail price. I am so excited.

    I look forward to your clarification. Thanks for a great blog – this is the first time I’ve read it, but I’ve bookmarked it for daily reading.

  6. Anneta- Good catch! I checked the recipe and you are right, it does call for the addition of 1 Tbsp of batter, not butter. However, I’ve never added an additional Tbsp of batter, but I always sprinkle the top with butter before flipping the ebelskivers over in the pan.

  7. Hi
    I´m going to try your recipe for blueberry pie today therefore I took a little round trip on your nice webpaged and found this recipe for Ebelskivers. I´m facinatet about american food and her you are crazy about a typical danish dish i find that a little funny. If you are interestet I would be more than glad to give you an old family recipe.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

