Skillet Cornbread and Chili

November 13, 2009 at 8:15 pm | Posted in Family Meals, kitchen tools | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

I took Deborah‘s advice and made skillet cornbread in my new cast iron skillet.  AMAZING results!  Seriously, the corn bread baked beautifully.  It was perfectly cooked, had an amazing color, didn’t stick to the pan, and washed up in a breeze.

How could I have gone so long without a cast iron skillet?!!!  I’m hooked, totally sold, and will probably return to the flea market next month to pick up a 10 inch skillet.

cornbread

I used this recipe for the cornbread.  Next time I will add some jalapenos because I like some zip in my food.  Plus the spicy jalapenos with some sweet honey would be amazing.

We ate it up with a nice bowl of turkey chili.  Perfect for this crisp fall night!

cornbread and chili

Turkey Chili

  • 1 lb of ground turkey
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 can of kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can of tomato paste
  • 3 tsp chili powder

Cook the onion, garlic, green bell pepper and jalapeno in a large pot.  Once they have become soft, remove them from the pot and set aside.  Cook the ground turkey in the same pot.  Return the vegetables to the ground turkey and stir in the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, kidney beans, and chili powder.  Bring to a boil then set on low until ready to serve.  Garnish with cheese, sour cream, cilantro…and cornbread.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. once you’ve had cornbread baked in a cast-iron skillet, the other stuff will never be the same. it truly does make a difference, and the chili with which you’ve paired it sounds delicious and would be the perfect bread-wetter. 🙂

  2. Everything looks delicious! I’m looking for a cast iron dutch oven to make thinks while camping. Gotta love cast iron! My MIL makes a chocolate puding cake (which I love) in heres. 🙂 Hope you had a great weekend. Do you get off work for Thanksgiving week?

  3. Yummo! My fave combo…chili and cornbread! Looks awesome!

  4. Cornbread looks delicious! I have turkey chili all the time, such a great winter meal.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.