get-a-way granita

April 24, 2008 at 9:10 pm | Posted in Dessert | 11 Comments
Tags: , ,

It’s been a rough couple of days with my kids. I need to get away. But our trip to San Diego is still a couple weeks away and my “Girls Weekend” is even further out.

So I made this Pineapple-Strawberry Granita and remembered trips to Kauai and Maui…not quite the get-a-way I needed, but it was enough to get me through today.

Pineapple-Strawberry Granita (adapted from Epicurious)

  • 1/2 of a fresh pineapple, cut into chunks
  • 1 pint of fresh strawberries, hulled
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup water

Put the pineapple into a food processor fitted with a steel blade and process until smooth. Pour the pineapple puree into a bowl and set aside.

Next, process the strawberries in a food processor until smooth. Add the water, sugar and pineapple puree and mix well.

Strain the pineapple strawberry puree through a wire sieve into an 8×8 inch baking dish. Place in the freezer. Stir with a fork every hour until firm, about 4 hours. Store in the freezer.

…I can almost smell the ocean air…

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ah, i hear ya loud and clear! it’s so awesome when spending a few minutes in the kitchen can result in a little temporary relief from hectic everyday life.

    meanwhile, strawberry and pineapple isn’t paired often enough–it’s a delicious combination!

  2. Uh-oh! Can you believe I have never made a granita. I don’t think my freezer would let me! Glad you got a quick moment of relief. You could always come here for a long getaway! 🙂

  3. That looks so good and refreshing! Perfect for the hot days we’ve been getting lately where I am.

  4. At least you have memories of great vacations… sigh. I spent my honeymoon in a tent. Haha – Ok, not really that bad either – but you get the point. Great work on the drink, hope you feel more chipper today! 🙂

  5. Great looking drink! I hope that life gets a little less hectic. Don’t worry vacation and girls weekend will be here before you know it!

  6. What a perfect way to try to unwind!

  7. i could use one to get me through the afternoon. but mine would have some rum in it.

  8. Yum! Pass one over here!

  9. I just made some of this today and it’s amazing!! The only addition I made was to add some rum.

  10. Brilynn and Michelle, I raided my cupboards for something, anything with a little kick.

  11. Yumm, my 2 favourite fruits. I’m definitely making this for summer.


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.