Cheesecake Pops

April 27, 2008 at 6:00 am | Posted in Daring Bakers, Dessert | 51 Comments

Cheesecake Pops! This month’s Daring Bakers Challenge was Cheesecake Pops! I had a lot of fun on this challenge and will definitely make these again. Here are some of my creations…

White Chocolate with Oreo:

White Chocolate with Springtime Sprinkles:

Dark Chocolate with Rainbow Jimmies:

Dark Chocolate with Sweetened Coconut:

Of course, I did encounter some challenges with this one. I followed the recipes to a “t”. My cheesecake needed more than 55 minutes to bake. When I pulled it out of the oven, it looked like this…

I allowed the cheesecake to cool completely and then let it set up in the refrigerator overnight. The next day I attempted to roll my cheesecake into balls, but found that my cheesecake was still a bit soupy in the middle.

Wanting to use the cheesecake I had made, I decided to dump the finished cheesecake into my kitchen-aid. With a paddle attachment I let it run for a minute. It turned into baked cheesecake liquid that was thick enough to be filled into a pastry bag. Then I piped the cheesecake out into rounds and let these set up in the freezer…

Once frozen, they were so easy to dip. I think it actually made for a much neater and easier way to get the cheesecake into pops.

At first I thought it was a drawback that they had to be kept in the freezer. Turns out it was perfect for my family. It was like eating ice cream on a stick. Yep, I’ll make these again soon.

Thanks to Elle at Feeding My Enthusiasms and Deborah at Taste and Tell for this fun challenge! And be sure to check out the thousands of other Cheesecake Pops on the Daring Bakers Blogroll!

The recipe…


Cheesecake Pops

Makes 30 – 40 Pops

  • 5 8-oz. packages cream cheese at room temperature
  • 2 cups sugar
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • ¼ cup heavy cream

Boiling water as needed

Thirty to forty 8-inch lollipop sticks

1 pound chocolate, finely chopped – you can use all one kind or half and half of dark, milk, or white (Alternately, you can use 1 pound of flavored coatings, also known as summer coating, confectionary coating or wafer chocolate – candy supply stores carry colors, as well as the three kinds of chocolate.)

2 tablespoons vegetable shortening

(Note: White chocolate is harder to use this way, but not impossible)

Assorted decorations such as chopped nuts, colored jimmies, crushed peppermints, mini chocolate chips, sanding sugars, dragees) – Optional

Position oven rack in the middle of the oven and preheat to 325 degrees F. Set some water to boil.

In a large bowl, beat together the cream cheese, sugar, flour, and salt until smooth. If using a mixer, mix on low speed. Add the whole eggs and the egg yolks, one at a time, beating well (but still at low speed) after each addition. Beat in the vanilla and cream.

Grease a 10-inch cake pan (not a springform pan), and pour the batter into the cake pan. Place the pan in a larger roasting pan. Fill the roasting pan with the boiling water until it reaches halfway up the sides of the cake pan. Bake until the cheesecake is firm and slightly golden on top, 35 to 45 minutes.

Remove the cheesecake from the water bath and cool to room temperature. Cover the cheesecake with plastic wrap and refrigerate until very cold, at least 3 hours or up to overnight.

When the cheesecake is cold and very firm, scoop the cheesecake into 2-ounce balls and place on a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Carefully insert a lollipop stick into each cheesecake ball. Freeze the cheesecake pops, uncovered, until very hard, at least 1 – 2 hours.

When the cheesecake pops are frozen and ready for dipping, prepare the chocolate. In the top of a double boiler, set over simmering water, or in a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water, heat half the chocolate and half the shortening, stirring often, until chocolate is melted and chocolate and shortening are combined. Stir until completely smooth. Do not heat the chocolate too much or your chocolate will lose it’s shine after it has dried. Save the rest of the chocolate and shortening for later dipping, or use another type of chocolate for variety.

Alternately, you can microwave the same amount of chocolate coating pieces on high at 30 second intervals, stirring until smooth.

Quickly dip a frozen cheesecake pop in the melted chocolate, swirling quickly to coat it completely. Shake off any excess into the melted chocolate. If you like, you can now roll the pops quickly in optional decorations. You can also drizzle them with a contrasting color of melted chocolate (dark chocolate drizzled over milk chocolate or white chocolate over dark chocolate, etc.) Place the pop on a clean parchment paper-lined baking sheet to set. Repeat with remaining pops, melting more chocolate and shortening (or confectionary chocolate pieces) as needed.

Refrigerate the pops for up to 24 hours, until ready to serve.

51 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. what a clever adjustment you made for the soupy cheesecake! looks like it worked like a charm–your pops are downright fabulous. i’m not sure what it says about me (perhaps that i’m dull and boring…), but both black and white versions are calling my name the loudest! nicely done!

  2. A very innovative solution for saving your cheesecake – I would have panicked and thrown it out (all that cream cheese!!). The end result looks fab – well done.

  3. Karen, you are really a genius!! Those are SO COOL!! I will have to try some version of this soon!

  4. Wow – what a way to turn a problem into a solution! You did such a great job – I really want one of those oreo ones!

  5. I’ll have the oreo one! Yum, those look so good! I wasn’t able to participate this month due to lack of money. Yours look good enough for the both of us though! ^_-

  6. These look just adorable! I love the oreo cookie idea. I kept mine simple this round but I love that you did a bunch of varieties! I am sure the family loved them!

  7. Your pops look great. I love the variety. I only dipped a few for my post and will finish them today. I was a slacker!

  8. Wow! these look so yummy!

  9. I got to taste a coconut one…yummy!

  10. Oh, the oreo pops!! Making me drool here…

  11. Karen, as usual, you are so inspiring! I had these before at a catered event and yours look just as fabulous! One thing they did was replace the lollipop sticks with some chocolate-filled pirouette/ladyfinger type cookies. They were still sturdy enough and then you could eat the stick! 🙂

  12. I’ll have two of the oreo ones please They turned out great, well done.

  13. These look great! I love the use of oreos – I used gingersnap cookies on mine. You have a great blog – everything looks yummy! 🙂

  14. A great bit of quick thinking to save the recipe. V. impressed.

    j

  15. Let’s see Karen I think one of each would be about right.
    Note to self: add oreos to the list of variety for these!
    Excellent!

  16. Fantastic! Oreos? Brilliant.

  17. What a great job and great improve to not waste your cake! Your pops look great!

  18. They look fabulous! It appears we had a similar experience with our pops, but I didn’t think about pipping them out and then freezing them. I just tried to freeze the batter and then scoop it out and it didn’t work that great. Great thinking on your part! 🙂

  19. Piping was a clever idea for soupy cheesecake. Great job with the decorations they all look wonderful!

  20. Great job! Love them all!

  21. Ah, finally, someone else who calls them “jimmies”. That’s what I’ve always called them in Wisconsin, but I guess here in Kansas, they’re just “sprinkles” and they never understand it when I call them jimmies! Thank you for convincing me that I’m not losing my mind. Much, that is, lol!

  22. The pureeing and piping is such an interesting idea — someone I visited earlier had done this also. I love all your coating varieties. I call them jimmies too but I grew up on the East coast and have never heard anyone else here in the SF Bay area call them that!

  23. What started out as a problematic recipe sure turned into a great end product!

    Yours are likely the most uniformly round pops I’ve seen and I really like the white with the black crumb coating – stunning!

  24. You aren’t the first blog I’ve read today that did the pastry bag piping trick, and honestly, I really like how perfect that makes them look. My favorites are the oreo dipped ones.

  25. Yum! They look like clover flowers from “Horton Hears a Who”! I wouldn’t mind being the “speck” that lives on one!

  26. Love how you clever you were. Like…when life gives you lemons, made lemonade, but with cheesecake! Great job!

  27. Yum – Oreos and cheesecake! Great idea!

  28. You did an amazing job! I love all the different coatings, very creative. 🙂

  29. Way to save your challenge!! I don’t think that would have ever occurred to me.

    I love the different versions that you made. We enjoyed ours frozen as well 🙂

  30. Beautiful pops and you were so smart in finding a solution. They turned out very round. I liked my pops on the frozen side also. Great job!

  31. Oreos? Brilliant 🙂

  32. I’m so glad it turned out for you..they look absolutely gorgeous! And your photo’s are beautiful! 🙂

  33. Now I like the piping concept. More control and neater. I eat mine frozen too. Beautiful work.

  34. Yum! Oreo crusted cheesecake pops! Two of the worlds greatest tastes.

  35. Yum Yum Yum!!

  36. Your pops are lovely!

  37. So glad you enjoyed the challenge! Your pops are so pretty!

  38. What a brilliant save you made with the soupy cheesecake! I am totally impressed. They turned out perfectly – so round and cute!! Great job!

  39. Wow these look like absolute heaven!

  40. Pretty pops and a nice solution to the problem of your cake not setting. I like all of your variations.

  41. Cute! Bet those oreo ones were delish!

  42. This is so cute! Your kids are lucky.

  43. These are so cool! Love it!

  44. SO BEAUTIFUL! You are already making me the coolest mom ever! Haha, seriously, is every child on your block begging you to take them in? I would 😉

  45. That’s the awesomest thing I’ve seen all day! They’re so colorful and pretty~oh my, am heavily craving some CHEESECAKE now!

  46. Karen – The Oreo creation looks fantastic, as do all of the other ones! I always love what you do!

  47. Very cool! I am truly impressed with your creativity in tackling the problem and yours came out soooooo cute!

  48. wow..they look awesome =) Love the white chocolate ones..haven’t seen many yet, though I am barely getting through the D’S haha.. they look fantastic though, great job!

  49. I think you found the solution to messy cheesecake pop making: the pastry bag idea was brilliant. And I love the white chocolate and oreo version.

  50. hey ! it’s srping here ! cheesecakes pops are growing everywhere 🙂
    great job 😉

  51. You did a great job on your pops. White chocolate and Oreos…Yum!

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.