Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies

June 1, 2008 at 7:45 am | Posted in Dessert | 16 Comments
Tags:

My favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies for a favorite friend…Happy Birthday Gretchen!

She remembered back to when we were roommates…”I think we were lying on the kitchen floor, feet propped up against the cabinets. We were surely talking about everything and talking about nothing. Somehow in the midst of that conversation, a tradition was begun. We jumped up off the floor and began to bake.” Here is a photo of that fateful day:

The cookies we made were fabulous (or so we thought at the time). Since then we’ve refined our baking a bit. In honor of her birthday, here’s the recipe for my…

Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookies (Thanks Stacey!)

  • 1 lb unsalted butter at room temp
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 cups wheat flour
  • 3 cups white flour
  • 1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 bag white chocolate chips
  • 2 cups chopped pecans (optional, not pictured)

Cream the butter and then add the ingredients as listed. Mix well. Scoop with cookie scoop. Bake at 350 degrees for 11 minutes or until done. Makes about 6 dozen cookies (depending on your size cookie scoop and how much batter you eat). You can half the recipe too. This makes a ton!

Gretchen and I met 14 years ago. She took me to La Bou and we talked over coffee. She had a room for rent in her house. And I took it. She was warm and gracious. She introduced me to her friends at church, encouraged me to go to Mexico and even got me to go to the Ukraine! She made me want to be better. I was and continue to be in awe of her creativity, her passion for helping others, and her desire to be more Christ-like. Happy Birthday Gretchen! Love you!

I know you remember this night (circa 1995)…C, you and me getting ready for the sock-hop. Where did we get those skirts anyways? Oh to be young again!

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Omigosh! You even have a picture of the wall of cupboards! I had no idea!!! I love that you posted a new cookie recipe for me to try, yum! Thanks so much Karen! What a treat!!!!

  2. Oh, I have a bunch of photos from Linda Rio! If only I had a picture of the orange truck. Good thing it’s engraved in my memory!

  3. That was the sweetest post ever! Sounds like a very special friend. Thanks for the glimpse of your fun memories together.

  4. Sounds like you’re fantastic friend! The cookies look great and the poodle skirt is too cute!

  5. ah, fond memories. i have quite a few pictures from my past that are so embarrassing (the hair…oh, the hair) they should never see the light of day again, but i’m loving your poodle skirts! 🙂

  6. What fun memories – and delicious cookies!

  7. great pictures! Very heart warming.

  8. I ran across this blog on a quest for rainbow jello and am making them for my kintergarden room lunch. Trying these cookies to give as part of end of year teacher gifts!! Thank you for you hard work, I’m from Michigan and I have this blog on my favorites list.

  9. Lisa- so glad you are trying the rainbow jello, I hope it’s a hit with the kindergarteners!

  10. What a nice friend you must have! That was such a lovely post! I love how girlfriends always stick together! Now I need to grab a napkin and wipe the drool from my chin from seeing those cookies!

  11. Those really are the best cookies! I love that recipe :). Thanks for the fun post from your past!

  12. I want to know whos who in the photo. I cant even tell which one you are.LOL Sounds like you guys have had alot of fun together.
    BTW- Your cookies look really really good!

  13. How great..healthy and yummy!!!!1

  14. I made these cookies tonight for my kids. We were in serious need of a Mommy & Me activity. Oh they are sooooo good! I think we have a new favorite cookie. 🙂

  15. I made 3 batches of these GREAT cookies for many scool staff and my Husband loved them so much he had me make a whole batch just for our family!!
    I can feel the weight come on now!!!
    The Rainbow jello was a huge hit at school and will be a party staple.
    I love your site and look almost each night for something new and yummy to try. I might even try one of your healthy things, like the flaxseed ground up in everything!!

    Thanks for making me a great cook!!!

  16. […] visitors, phone calls from friends in Peru and friends in the states as well as emails and even a batch of chocolate chip cookies baked for me (along with old photos of me that were posted, but we won’t mention that, […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.