Company Brownies

June 4, 2008 at 11:18 am | Posted in Dessert | 14 Comments
Tags: ,

I’ve always been a big fan of Ina Garten. Her coconut cupcakes are divine. I think beatty’s chocolate cake is the best chocolate cake recipe ever, and I love it so much that I made it into cupcakes.

So there was no doubt in my mind that her Outrageous Brownies would be, well, outrageous. These brownies, my friends, do not disappoint.

Outrageous Brownies (by Ina Garten)

1 pound unsalted butter
1 pound plus 12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips, divided
6 ounces unsweetened chocolate
6 extra-large eggs
3 tablespoons instant coffee powder
2 tablespoons real vanilla extract
2 1/4 cups sugar
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, divided (1 cup for batter and 1/4 cup in the chips and nuts)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
3 cups diced walnut pieces (I used 1 cup walnut pieces and 1 cup white chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour a 13 by 18 by 1 1/2-inch sheet pan.

Melt together the butter, 1 pound chocolate chips, and unsweetened chocolate on top of a double boiler. Cool slightly. Stir together the eggs, instant coffee, vanilla and sugar. Stir in the warm chocolate mixture and cool to room temperature.

Stir together 1 cup of the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to cooled chocolate mixture. Toss the walnuts, white chocolate chips and 12 ounces of chocolate chips with 1/4 cup flour to coat. Then add to the chocolate batter. Pour into prepared pan.

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until tester just comes out clean. Halfway through the baking, rap the pan against the oven shelf to allow air to escape from between the pan and the brownie dough. Do not over-bake! Cool thoroughly, refrigerate well and cut into squares.

These brownies are perfect for an event or company because they can be made the day before. Just wrap tightly in plastic wrap and store in the refrigerator. Then slice and plate, these will be the hit of the party!


14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love the plate, that is what I always say, just as I help my self to two or three of whatever goodies happen to be around…. 🙂 great photos!

  2. Oh wow those look amazing! The plate is really cute too!

  3. These brownies are sooooooo good.

    You should check out Barefoot Bloggers: http://barefootbloggers.wordpress.com/

  4. I’ve recently become an Ina fan so I will have to try these!!

  5. These are dangerous! I rarely make them because I will eat all them. But they are favorite among all friends. 🙂

  6. oh yes i could! that’s a heck of a lot of buttah and chocolate, so i’ve no doubt these are absolutely decadent. 🙂

  7. Yes, these are awesome. I will bake no other. (I wish I could reach into your photos and grab one!)

  8. A pound of butter, oh my! They look decadent in your photo. I’ll have to try them when there is a crowd around. 🙂 I have no willpower.

  9. I love this recipe too, and I especially like the fact that it makes a TON of brownies. I sub oreo cookie chunks for the nuts. And I use espresso powder. These could be the best brownies ever!

  10. These sound decadent. I may have to give this recipe a whirl and see how it compares!

  11. I feel like an idiot admitting it, but I snubbed her cookbooks for years because the “Barefoot Contessa” name got on my nerves. I finally came to my senses and borrowed one of her cookbooks from my mom. Instead of returning it, I should probably just buy my mom a new copy, since I’ve used it often enough to make it sticky and spattered. These brownies look lovely; I would skip the nuts (daughter with allergy), but luscious, warm chocolate sounds awfully good right now.

  12. Those look amazing! Walnuts and white chocolate chips sounds like a match made in heaven!
    You’ve been tagged!

  13. […] pictures after we install! While I’ve got your taste buds stimulated…. check out this recipe for real brownies… supplied by another WordPress blogger. UMMMMMMMMM Good! Possibly related posts: […]

  14. […] pictures after we install! While I’ve got your taste buds stimulated…. check out this recipe for real “outrageous” brownies… supplied by another WordPress blogger. UMMMMMMMMM […]


Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.