Coconut Cupcakes

March 1, 2008 at 11:13 am | Posted in Cupcakes, Dessert | 25 Comments
Tags: ,

I got it in my head that it would be fun to make a cupcake version of a Lava Flow. This got me thinking of Ina’s Coconut Cake. And then I started to think about Coconut Cupcakes…

coconut-blue-sm.jpg

Coconut Cupcakes (adapted from Barefoot Contessa at Home)

  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 5 large eggs at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 oz sweetened shredded coconut

In a large bowl mix the oil and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time. Mix in the vanilla and almond extract. Turn the mixer on low and add the flour, one cup at a time. Then add the baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix on medium until well combined. Turn the mixer back to low and pour in milk. Then mix in coconut.

Using a cupcake scoop, fill a prepared cupcake pan. This makes 30 cupcakes. Bake at 350 degrees for 22 minutes. Allow to cool in the pan for 5 minutes then cool completely on a cooling rack.

coconut-cupcake-tray-sm.jpg

For the Frosting

  • 1 pound cream cheese at room temperature
  • 1 stick of butter at room temperature
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 pound confectioners’ sugar

Cream together the cream cheese and butter, add the vanilla and almond extracts, then sift in sugar.

Fill a pastry bag with frosting. Cut a 1 inch hole. Generously pipe the frosting. Sprinkle on sweetened shredded coconut and then pat gently.

coconut-cupcake-plate-sm.jpg

These can be made the day ahead. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container. frost the cupcakes before serving. Allow the cupcakes to come up to room temperature.

coconut-cupcake-tall-sm.jpg

For my dear friend Crystal, Happy Birthday!

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Those are beautiful!

  2. How funny…I have been playing with coconut this weekend! Beautiful cupcakes. Great idea!

  3. Simply adorable. They look fantastic. Bravo!!!

  4. Those look absolutely delicious! I love coconut.

  5. Coconut cupcakes…oh, I can taste these now! Ingredients sound so delicious, especially topped off with the cream cheese frosting!

  6. Yum. Like Shari I love coconut. Can we be friends? 🙂

  7. I love coconut too. It’s one of my most favorite things :). These look SO good!

  8. both your french bread and cupcakes look amazing! I don’t know how you have self control to not eat FRESH french bread straight out of the oven and wait until the next day…I’m positive I wouldn’t have been able to do that!

  9. They taste as good as they look! Thanks for the birhtday gift!

  10. Wow this cupckes are a real gorgeous, so white and so pure!

  11. Those look fun and yummy! I like the sweetie pie paper.

  12. These look very sweet and yummy!

  13. Those are just beautiful! Great job.

  14. These look super yummy. I plan on making them for my baby shower this weekend. Question: you said that the recipe yielded 30 cupcakes, do you mean 30 full size cupcakes or minis? In some of you adorable pictures they looked so tiny!

  15. Jillian- This recipe will yield 30 regular size cupcakes. Enjoy the baby shower!

  16. congrats on lowering your cholesterol!! keep up the good work

  17. […] cupcakes are great March 24, 2008 at 4:55 pm | In Dessert | I made these coconut cupcakes for Easter, but this time, I made them mini. This is my new favorite way to make cupcakes. Everyone […]

  18. […] June 4, 2008 at 11:18 am | In Uncategorized | I’ve always been a big fan of Ina Garten. Her coconut cupcakes are divine. I think beatty’s chocolate cake is the best chocolate cake recipe ever, and I […]

  19. […] | Tags: barefoot contessa, cupcakes I know, with me it’s either jello jello jello or cupcakes cupcakes cupcakes. Not a lot of variety. But I’m a traditionalist, and when I know something works I […]

  20. […] Coconut Cupcakes, and a second recipe […]

  21. Thanks so much for the recipes!! I might use them for the bake sale I am going to have to raise money for my cheerleading squad.
    It’s going to be mostly cupcakes and these look delicious~

  22. it looks so yummy

    i wont hesitate to try them

  23. When I saw the recipe you have using oil I was a bit surprise because the original was using butter. I prefer yours so I think I will try it soon.
    Thank you very much.

  24. […] celebration of my Blog turning TWO years old today…. I’m servin’ up some special Coconut Cuppie-Cakes! Grab a couple for yourself – they’re on […]

  25. […] found photo three on the Do Better Blog (note: nice blog – take a look around). I’ve been a fan of coconut since I was a kid. […]


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.