i heart jello

February 13, 2008 at 11:51 pm | Posted in Dessert | 7 Comments
Tags: ,

Growing up, my family called these, “knox blox”. Today, my kids love these fun jello shapes. I like them because they are easy, the possibilities are limitless, and can be made the day ahead.

jello-tray-small.jpg

Knox Blox

  • 2 packages of Knox Gelatin
  • 1 box of grape flavored jello gelatin- 6 oz size
  • 1 box of strawberry flavored jello gelatin- 6 oz size
  • water and ice

Pour grape flavored jello and one package of knox gelatin in 9×13 pan. Stir. Heat 2 cups of water to boiling. Pour the water on the jello and mix until dissolved. Add 1/2 cup of ice and stir until thick. Remove any remaining ice and put the jello in the refrigerator until set. About 45 minutes.

Pour strawberry flavored jello and one package of knox gelatin in a separate bowl. Stir. Heat 2 cups of water to boiling. Pour the water on the jello and mix until dissolved. Add1/2 cup of ice and stir until thick. Remove any remaining ice and pour over the grape jello. Allow to set.

With your favorite metal cookie cutter, cut out heart shapes. This can be done a day ahead. Store in the refrigerator.

jello-close-small.jpg

This was my first time making heart shaped knox blox and I think they turned out super cute. Typically I do rainbow Knox Blox. The directions are the same, just start with blue jello, then a layer of yellow and finally a layer of red jello.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. These are adorable!!! I want to try!

  2. Those are so cute! I am totally going to steal your idea and make them for my fiance! Love it!

  3. […] brought jello last time and really wanted to do cupcakes or cookies or something fun. Reluctantly I signed up for jello, […]

  4. […] made these the same as my rainbow jello and heart jello, only with blue and red jello.  Last year I did a white center with condensed milk, but I just […]

  5. […] am | In Cupcakes | Tags: barefoot contessa, cupcakes I know, with me it’s either jello jello jello or cupcakes cupcakes cupcakes. Not a lot of variety. But I’m a traditionalist, and when I […]

  6. […] version: 6 layers of Red White and Blue Finger Jello. Remember those popular little treats called Knox Blox (back in the day?) These are similar, though not quite as firm. The white layer isn’t actually […]

  7. kool


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.