01.16.08 eating

January 17, 2008 at 9:09 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise, flaxseed meal | 6 Comments
Tags:

Okay, giving this another try today. This will not be a regular addition to my blog, it’s just been an interesting experiment for me.

Pre-work out breakfast, 3/4 cup Joe’s O’s (cheerios) and 1/2 cup nonfat milk.

Post-work out breakfast- Oatmeal pancake with flaxseed meal and banana:

dsc_0047-small.jpg

My sister would make this pancake years ago when she did Body For Life. She suggested I add flaxseed meal. Here’s how, mix 2 egg whites, 1/3 cup quick oats, 2 T flaxseed meal, 1/8 t baking powder, 1/8 t cinnamon. Pour onto a hot pan sprayed with non-stick spray and cook about 4 minutes on each side.

Lunch- turkey, red bell pepper, avocado, cream cheese on Ezekiel bread and a half a bell pepper on the side. Too full for the apple.

dsc_0039-small.jpg

Snack- 1 oz walnuts and two chocolate chip (with chickpeas) cookies:

dsc_0055-small.jpg

Dinner- left over lasagna, spinach salad with Gorgonzola and pecans, plus a slice of bread. I also ate my son’s crust.

dsc_0057-small.jpg

To avoid the crazy eating from the night before, I asked my hubby to package up/throw away any and all leftovers and I immediately went on my walk. Now the dishes wait, but all the food to pick at is gone. Plus getting on the treadmill kind of turns all that off for me.

I won’t be blogging my eating tomorrow, simply because it is a drastic change for me, and I worry about the rebound. I must say that this really has helped give me a healthy view of what I eat; how I eat; what I eat. There has been no eating while prepping meals because I was “starving”. I’ve had more veggies than I typically do. And I’ve been conscious about my eating, rather than mindlessly eating out of boredom.

01.15.08 eating

January 17, 2008 at 2:52 am | Posted in Diet and Exercise | 1 Comment
Tags:

She said it, and it’s true, “the idea that I have to take a picture of something before I put it in my mouth is actually helping a lot. I encourage all of you mindless eaters out there to try it out.”

Pre-workout breakfast:

dsc_0034-small.jpg

Post-workout breakfast, Kath’s Oatmeal Pancake with blueberries:

dsc_0002.jpg

Lunch was a turkey, avocado, red bell pepper and cream cheese on Ezekiel bread with half a bell pepper and small apple on the side:

dsc_0039-small.jpg

I had a snack of 1 oz of walnuts and a cup of green tea:

dsc_0041-small.jpg

Dinner was spinach and ricotta lasagna, with Cesar salad and bread (from my bread maker). FYI my dinner plates are 10 inches in diameter.

dsc_0042-small.jpg

Feeling like I “needed” more, and not pictured was another half a piece of lasagna, a second slice of bread and half a cup of Double Rainbow Vanilla Ice Cream. This was my anxious eating. The “I’ve been so good all day and I can’t take it anymore eating”.

So I walked out of the kitchen, left the dishes on the counter, and hopped on the treadmill. Ahhhhhh.

On a side note….my kids ate the lasagna! Even my son, the white eater, ate his lasagna! This was the first time I have ever served them lasagna. A year ago, I would have made them something like spaghetti and meatballs. But not anymore. Tomato sauce, spinach, ricotta, noodles and cheese, all layered up. Seriously, this is a major accomplishment in our house.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.